WRITER’S CHRONICLE: The Premiere

HARVEST premiered on Wednesday, Jan. 26, at the Blank Stage studios in a packed-out, standing-room only house of well over 100 people.

My fiancé and I sat patiently munching down Doritos waiting on the movie to start. I felt I wanted some popcorn but no dice on that one. Chips and water would do.

The lights dimmed to darkness. The digital projector fired up and the movie started.

The audience had a few laughs and some “OOOHHH!!!” moments peppered with “OH NO!!!!” here and there throughout certain high points.
People cheered when the stars came on screen who attended.
They were about exhausted when the final act closed with a surprise ending.

The credits rolled…. But I went blank and was aloof to what happened around me.

I took a moment and processed all that just happened.

A few months ago, I was tasked to write a short film that could be shot over a weekend.
I submitted a 17 page draft after about two weeks. The next week I was asked to trim it to 12-13 pages. Then I was asked to do an overnight rewrite in time for the actors to rehearse.

The Facebook fan page was flooded with on-set images and poster designs for months leading to that evening.

When I came to all I heard was CLAP! CLAP! CLAP! CLAP! CLAP! CLAP! CLAP! CLAP! CLAP! CLAP! CLAP! CLAP! CLAP! CLAP! CLAP! CLAP! CLAP! CLAP! CLAP! CLAP! CLAP! CLAP! CLAP! CLAP!

My fiancé told me “great job baby!” They loved the movie. I am glad they loved it or at least liked it. Then my worst fear was realized. The executive producer called all cast and crew to the stage.

It gets better… I was first to speak. She said something along the lines of “and this is the most important person on this project.” My first reaction was to look for that person.
A second later, I realized it was I.

I was front and center looking like a deer caught out on a night road with the high beams flashed on him – then I went into a small speech about the film.

Good to know it was well-received and I think after some additional tweaks and edits such as sound editing, color correction and scene editing, we will have a winner.

One thought on “WRITER’S CHRONICLE: The Premiere

  1. Amazing! I can't wait to see your film, I have nothing but great expectations, especially from the trailer. I am glad that the reviews were positive and the the film was well received. More projects to come!!! 😀

Leave a Reply

